Posted by: tmorrow09 | November 30, 2009

Watch and Write: Helpful Writing Exercise

Last week I met with my editor to go over some changes in my book.

One of the things she mentioned to me to help with scene description is to watch people. Become aware of how they move, their facial expressions, the emotions I get from watching.

I was reminded that when someone reads a book, they create personal visual pictures based on the words placed on the page. So as a writer, I want to be able to allow the reader to capture the pictures to showcase the story in my book while they read.

This weekend, I did watch and write. Just as a practice to elevate my scene descriptions, this weekend I took her advice to watch and write. From a distance, I wrote two people sitting at a cafe and wrote a short story based on what I saw.

I found this exercise to be helpful with my writing scene descriptions.

So to my fellow writers, you may wish to try this exercise out to help with descriptions in your writing.

Happy Writing!


Leave a comment

Categories