Posted by: tmorrow09 | October 7, 2009

So many changes…but don’t worry

When I began to write my first book, I did not realize how many changes I would be going through in this process. Sometimes, it can be a little scary when making a change, wondering if it is the right choice but then I remember, this is MY book.  Writing this book and developing myself as a full time writer is a process and these changes are all a part of the process.

Once I settled in with the idea there will be changes along the way, I stopped worrying about it and relished the fact I have the opportunity to write this book.

The first change came when I decided to change the style of the book. I know – big change! Initially when I started writing the draft of my book, I thought I would write it as a nonfiction memoir style book. Then as I continued writing the first draft, I choose to change from nonfiction to fiction. The first big change. No worries.

The change occurred along the way, during the writing process. Again while learning changes happened. The writing led me and you can say even encouraged me to make this change.

Currently, I am writing my second draft and have made other changes in the book like moving around chapters, rewording the beginning (twice) and updating the format. More changes…no worries.

All of these things have become part of my daily life and I am enjoying being a part of this journey of writing my first book. I already have an idea for the second book–watch out!

Fellow writers: Do you have some advice to other beginning writers to help with newbie writing jitters?

My advice to all you writers out there—-keep writing and don’t be afraid of the changes!


Leave a comment

Categories